A Gospel-Centered Approach to the Enneagram

A Gospel-Centered Approach to the Enneagram

The Enneagram is an ancient personality typing framework that is based upon nine different personality types: The Perfectionist (Type 1), The Advisor (Type 2), The Achiever (Type 3), The Individualist (Type 4), The Thinker (Type 5), The Guardian (Type 6), The Optimist (Type 7), The Challenger (Type 8), and The Mediator (Type 9). It is designed to help identify the core motivations, fears, strengths, desires, and weaknesses that people have depending on their personality type. The Enneagram also shows how each personality type interacts and relates to one another as well as revealing what each type’s behaviour can look like when in a healthy state and an unhealthy state.

Paired with the Gospel, the Enneagram can be a useful tool that can help us better understand who we are, especially in terms of why we think, feel, and act in certain ways. Understanding the core strengths, weaknesses, motivations, and fears of our Enneagram personality type can help us recognize when we are living in a healthy state rooted in Christ, but also when we are living in an unhealthy state rooted in our sinful desires and fears. As a result, the Enneagram can help us identify when we need to re-examine our hearts, repent, and change our ways so that we can fix our eyes back on Christ (Lamentations 3:40; Acts 3:19).

The Enneagram is simply a helpful tool that can help point out some aspects of our lives (thoughts, feelings, behaviour, etc.) in which we can benefit from growth and transformation, but ultimately, without Christ, no transformation and growth can take place in us. It is when we put our trust in Christ alone and believe that He has redeemed us by His work on the cross, we can then be renewed and transformed so that we can walk in the Spirit and become more like Jesus (Ephesians 1:7; Galatians 5:16; 2 Corinthians 3:18). 

If you are interested in learning more about your Enneagram personality type through a Gospel-centered approach, consider checking out The Enneagram Collection.

The Enneagram Collection is a series of nine books written by Beth McCord that dive deeper into the strengths, challenges, and opportunities for each personality type in order to lead to a more meaningful life, lasting relationships, and a deeper understanding of God and yourself. Each book highlights a different Enneagram type and is broken down into 21 daily readings, helping you unpack your story using the powerful tool of the Gospel-centered Enneagram.

Previous article Bible Verses That Remind Us Of Who We Are In Christ
Next article In Life And Death

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields